• You are here:
  • About
  • History & Past Presidents

In 1976 Professor Axel Ingelman-Sundberg from Sweden and Professor Jack R. Robertson from the United States invited a group of their colleagues to join them at the FIGO (International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics) meeting in Mexico to establish a new society – the International Urogynecological Association. This new society’s mission would be to establish a non-profit international association dedicated to the advancement of urogynecologic knowledge around the world through education and the promotion of basic and clinical research on disorders of the female pelvic floor. Over 40 years later, that same mission remains the core purpose of IUGA.

Founding Members

  • Axel Ingelman Sundberg †
  • Jack R. Robertson †
  • Donald R. Ostergard
  • Ulf Ulmsten †
  • Eckhard Petri
  • Wolfgang Fischer
  • Bozo Kralj
  • Oscar Contreras Ortiz †
  • Stuart Stanton
  • David Warrell
  • Abbo Hassan Abbo

Past Presidents


Lynsey Hayward

Bob Freeman

G. Willy Davila

Harry Vervest

Peter Sand

Tsung Hsien (Charles) Su

Paul Riss

Peter Dwyer

Hans van Geelen

Linda Cardozo

Oscar Contreras Ortiz †

Harold Drutz

James Gibson †

Eckhard Petri

Bozo Kralj

Donald Ostergard

Jack Robertson †

Axel Ingelman-Sundberg †